Skip to content

A really bad kitchen experience

August 4, 2009

So, on the 1st of August we celebrated the 2nd anniversary of our dear son! I got all excited about it and was planning to have a nice meal and a great cake at home. I thought about inviting some friends over but in the end we just thought a small do will suffice. And boy am I glad we were alone! The day started all right, we went to the pool for a few hours, the water was great, nice and warm( unlike in Romania where I froze!). Got home for the afternoon nap and I started cooking.   First try: Mellon Mousse! I’ve been trying to make it for a while but I can never get the cream right. So, I got a box with wipping cream on it and put it in the fridge for a day. Of course, it didn’t work! Instead of becoming nice and fluffy it turned hard like heavy cream. Very dissapointed I went to the local supermarket to get some things for the  second try . Ok, so it’s not really a cake but M wouldn’t know the difference. Of course I had problems with this one too, first the cream wouldn’t thinken then the crust broke into pieces when I got it out on the plate. So I decided for something simple. A Pavlova. I failed misserably at this too so Sean had to go to the same supermarket and buy a cake. The rest of the dinner was as unsuccessful. I had marinated some steak for hours but when grilled it was very very tough. And the grilled vegetables had too much pepper on them so I could only have a few pieces. Matthew’s were ok because I washed them before grilling them and they were the last.

I have spent 5 hours in the kitchen and appart from the bought cake nothing was really eatible. I am very dissapointed as I do enjoy cooking! Anyway, the boys spent the afternoon playing with the train set so at least they had a good time.

And what was really fun was M blowing the candle. Time and time again until we couldn’t light it anymore. I am very proud of him because it’s the first time he succesfully blows a candle. Till now he just looked at them very puzzled until someone else blew it for him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

