Skip to content

Your good name madam?

March 1, 2009

I just ordered pizza. My first home delivery in Dubai. In the first few days here I received a flyer with some vouchers in it from a delivery guy and I kept trying to order. So tonight I decided it’s time to take advantage of that offers and made the call. Being my first order I had to register, that is, give my phone number, address and name. I understood all the questions until the name one:

” What is you good name, madam?”

” Excuse me, what?!?”

” Your good name, madam”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 2:12 pm

    so what is your good name? just in case i ever get there to know what this means:)

    • milind permalink
      May 1, 2011 11:40 am

      What’s your goodname is adapted from the Hindi phrase”Aapka (Your) Shubh(good) naam (name) kya (what) hai(is)? which is commonly used in India.The Indian influence is quite strong in UAE because of their presence for many years.

  2. notreallydune permalink*
    March 10, 2009 1:09 pm

    I don’t think it actually matters as they will get it wrong anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

